Samalinda slammin’ to ya

I have firsthand experience of the empowering nature of spoken word poetry. I have watched it change lives. 

It didn’t take long for spoken word poet and English teacher SAMALINDA SCHRODER to break from the shadow of being “Jules’ Mum”, winning Enough Said’s March slam. Samalinda returns this month, donning all her Beyoncé single-name energy.

How did you first find out about Enough Said Poetry Slam?

Jules told me.

What was your first experience sharing your poetry in front of a live audience? How did it go?

Jules was Support Feature at Narellan Poetry Slam so I went along and gave it a shot. I came third. It was a heat for the [Australian Poetry Slam] Western Sydney Final which meant I got to go along and perform two poems there. I won! So then I got to go to the NSW Final, which was a total blast. 

What’s the origin story behind your stage name: Samalinda?

It’s my actual name! My mum made it up the day I was born. I’ve always felt that it meant I was destined for greatness, but the reality has mostly been a lifetime of explaining my name!

As a teacher, how do you view the role of spoken word poetry for youth?

I have firsthand experience of the empowering nature of spoken word poetry. I have watched it change lives. 

If you could have three spoken word artists included in the school curriculum, who would you choose and why?

I already teach Omar Musa, Neil Hilborn and, my personal favourite, Guante. He’s my favourite because every year I take an all-boys at risk year 10 class and every year I turn poetry haters into actual poets with Guante’s help.

56697079_2799581756735038_1842124109048184832_o

Samalinda pictured with her “much more poetically gifted son” (her words, not ours) Jules Centauri. Enough Said loves both Samalinda and Jules equally.

What are you reading at the moment?

Axiomatic by Maria Tumarkin on my bedside, Educated by Tara Westover in the car, and [March Enough Said feature] Tug Dumbly’s poetry when I’m waiting for the kettle to boil.

If your poetry was a flavour of chip, which flavour would it be and why?

Salt and vinegar – it bites, but you want it.

Do you have a ‘sneak preview’ line from your upcoming set you’d be willing to share?

“…I am mirror, mosaic, masterpiece…”

Where should everyone be on the last Thursday of every month?

ENOUGH SAID POETRY SLAM, of course.

 

Catch Samalinda performing as support feature for wāni at Society City on Thursday, April 25. Head to our Facebook page here for all the details!

Enough Said Poetry Slam is supported by Culture Bank Wollongong, Red Room Poetry and “Samalinda’s son” Jules Centauri. We acknowledge our events take place on the land of the Wodi Wodi people of the Dhawaral nation and pay our respects.

Leave a comment